Hautefeuille
>>
Home
>
Pedestrian
>
Hautefeuille
Saint-Merd-la-Breuille

Hautefeuille

Heritage site and architecture
History
Viewpoint
Embed this item to access it offline
A country circuit where magnificent paths with dry stone walls take you to the grounds of the former Hautefeuille château.
A favourite season for exploring this path is spring when Mother Nature is waking up. You can explore several sites in the commune, starting with the Puy de la Garde (805 m), which offers a view of the Puy de Dôme and then the Massif du Sancy. The walk continues to the villages of Manoux (tumulus) and Gourseix. In the latter, a reused stone that may have come from the former Château d'Hautefeuille features the coat of arms of the château owners.

6 points of interest
Heritage site

Saint-Merd

The name St-Merd is very strange and is, in fact, a contraction of St-Médard. The commune had 191 inhabitants at the last census. In the centre of the village, you will find the church, which was rebuilt in 1527, then refurbished in the 18th and 19th centuries, perhaps to replace an older Templar chapel.
read more
Panorama

Puy de Dôme

The Puy de Dôme is an ancient volcano which gave its name to the eponymous department. At the height of 1,465 metres above sea level, it is the highest volcano in Chaine des Puys, a volcanic complex of 80 volcanoes.
A TDF antenna has become the symbol of the site and makes it very easy to identify. Also, at its summit, is a Gallo-Roman temple dedicated to Mercury. While the bravest can make the ascent on foot, a rack and pinion train gives access to the summit.
read more
Panorama

Massif du Sancy

This hike will offer you a remarkable view of the highest volcano in metropolitan France, the Puy de Sancy. At 1885 metres above sea level, this summit is the highest point of the Massif Central. The two streams, the Dore and the Dogne, originate there, and their confluence forms the Dordogne.
read more
Archaeology

Tumulus of Manoux

At the exit of the village of Manoux, you will notice a strange mound that turns out to be a tumulus. These man-made hills, made of earth and stones, house in their centre a funerary chamber that was the tomb for a dead person. A little further along the path, the wet meadows were once home to three ponds.
read more
Heritage site

Coat of arms of Gourseix

In the centre of the village, take a short round trip to the right and up towards the barn. To the right of the door, take a look at the carved stone which could represent the coat of arms of the Motier de La Fayette family, owners of the Château de Hautefeuille. 
read more
History

Near Hautefeuille

Locate the 763 metre point marked on the map: this was the site of the château d'Hautefeuille. Its owner, Jean Motier de La Fayette, was killed in 1568 during the Wars of Religion at the battle of Cognat, in the Allier, by the Protestants; they also burned down this fortress. The land was sold by François de La Fayette, husband of the novelist. A château was rebuilt. Described as intact in the 19th century, it was destroyed and then used as a stone quarry.
read more

Description

Departure: park in the church square. Go back towards the centre of the village. Follow the D18. As you leave the village, turn right towards the cemetery
  1. At the cemetery, take the path on the left that joins a track. Follow it to the right; keep straight ahead as far as the road.
  2. Take the road on the right for 200 m. Follow the track on the left, which becomes a path. At the next crossroads, turn left. The path becomes a track; on a bend, go left until you reach the road.
  3. Follow it to the right for 300 m, then take the path to the left. At the next crossroads, turn left and continue for 50 m, then leave the track for a grassy path on the left that leads to Les Manoux. Continue straight on in the village.
  4. Take the road to the left and, 50 m after the bridge, a trail to the right. At the first crossroads, follow the track to the right; cross the stream and then the meadow. In the woods, turn left to find a path. It joins a track that you can take on the left to reach Gourseix.
  5. While you are there, take a 50 m return trip to the right: an interesting stone with a coat of arms can be seen up on the right-hand side of the wall of the barn adjoining the first house. As you leave the village, take the path on the left which joins the road.
  6. Follow it to the right. At the next crossroads, turn left. 200 m. after the La Barrre, after a transformer, take a trail to the right. Follow it, keeping straight ahead; ignore a path on the left; go to the crossroads just before the road on the left. The path meets the road.
  7. Turn left onto it; after the sorting area, take the path on the left to reach the village. Turn right to find the church.
Departure : Church Square, Saint-Merd la Breuille
Arrival : Church Square, Saint-Merd la Breuille
Towns crossed : Saint-Merd-la-Breuille, Flayat

Altimetric profile


Recommandations

Several areas are wet, be sure to wear study shoes.

Information desks

Place Quinault, 23500 Felletin

http://www.aubusson-felletin-tourisme.com

tourisme.aubusson@gmail.com

05 55 66 32 12

Find out more

1 Rue de la République, 19290 Sornac

http://www.tourisme-hautecorreze.fr/Le-Territoire/Bugeat-Sornac

05 19 60 00 30

Find out more

Access and parking

From La Courtine, follow the D996 towards St-Oradoux. Pass St-Oradoux then the pond of Méouze. Turn right on the D. 18 towards St-Merd la Breuille.

Parking :

Church Square, Saint-Merd la Breuille

More information


Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Hautefeuille
>>
Accueil
>
Pédestre
>
Hautefeuille
Saint-Merd-la-Breuille

Hautefeuille

Histoire
Patrimoine et architecture
Point de vue
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion
Un circuit champêtre où de magnifiques chemins aux murets de pierre sèche vous amènent sur les terres de l’ancien château d’Hautefeuille.
Une saison «coup de cœur » pour découvrir ce chemin, le printemps lorsque Dame Nature se réveille. Découverte de plusieurs sites de la commune en commençant par le Puy de la Garde (805 m.) qui offre une vue sur le Puy de Dôme puis le Massif du Sancy. La balade se poursuit jusqu’aux villages de Manoux (tumulus) et de Gourseix. Dans ce dernier, une pierre de ré-emploi pouvant provenir de l’ancien château d’Hautefeuille figurerait le blason des châtelains.

Les 6 patrimoines à découvrir
Patrimoine

Bourg de Saint-Merd

Curieux nom que celui de Saint-Merd qui est en fait une contraction de St-Médard. La commune comptait 191 habitants au dernier recensement. Au centre du bourg, l’église a été reconstruite en 1527, puis réaménagée au XVIIIème et XIXème, peut-être en remplacement d’une chapelle templière plus ancienne.
lire la suite
Point de vue

Puy de Dôme

Le Puy de Dôme est un ancien volcan qui a donné son nom au département éponyme. Du haut de ses 1 465 mètres d’altitude, il est le plus haut volcan de Chaine des Puys, cet ensemble volcanique qui compte 80 volcans.
Une antenne TDF est devenue le symbole du site permettant de l’identifier facilement. A son sommet également, un temple gallo-romain dédié à Mercure. Si les plus courageux peuvent en faire l’ascension à pied, un train à crémaillère permet d’accéder à son sommet.

lire la suite
Point de vue

Massif du Sancy

Cette randonnée vous offrira un point de vue remarquable sur le plus haut volcan de France métropolitaine, le Puy de Sancy. Du haut de ses 1885 mètres d’altitude, ce sommet est le point culminant du Massif Central. Les deux ruisseaux, la Dore et la Dogne, y prennent naissance et leur confluence forme la Dordogne.
lire la suite
Archéologie

Tumulus de Manoux

A la sortie du village de Manoux, vous remarquerez une étrange butte qui se révèle être un tumulus. Ces collines artificielles, faites de terre et de pierres, construites par l’homme, abritent en leur centre une chambre funéraire qui accueillait la sépulture d’un défunt. Un peu plus loin sur le chemin, les prairies humides étaient autrefois occupées par trois étangs.
lire la suite
Patrimoine

Blason de Gourseix

Au centre du village, petit aller-retour à droite vers la montée de la grange; à droite de la porte, remarquez la pierre sculptée qui pourrait représenter le blason de la famille du Motier de La Fayette, propriétaire du château de Hautefeuille.
lire la suite
Histoire

A proximité d’Hautefeuille

Repérez sur la carte le point coté 763 mètres : sur ce site se trouvait le château d’Hautefeuille. Son propriétaire, Jean Motier de La Fayette, fut tué en 1568 durant les guerres de Religion à la bataille de Cognat, dans l’Allier, par les Protestants ; ces derniers brulèrent également cette forteresse. La terre fut vendue par François de La Fayette, mari de la romancière. Un château fut reconstruit; décrit comme intact au XIXème s., il fut détruit puis servit de carrière de pierre.
lire la suite

Description

Départ : stationner place de l’église. Revenir vers le centre du village. Suivre la D18. A la sortie du bourg, à droite vers le cimetière.

  1. Au cimetière, emprunter le chemin à gauche qui rejoint une piste. La prendre à droite ; toujours tout droit jusqu’à la route
  2. Prendre cette route à droite sur 200 m. Suivre la piste à gauche qui devient un chemin. Au carrefour de pistes suivant, tourner à gauche. Le chemin devient une piste ; dans un virage, à gauche jusqu’à la route. 
  3. La suivre à droite sur 300 m. puis prendre le chemin à gauche. Au carrefour de pistes suivant, à gauche sur 50m puis quitter la piste pour un chemin enherbé à gauche qui gagne les Manoux. Tout droit dans le village.
  4. Prendre la route à gauche et, 50 m après le pont, un sentier à droite. Au premier carrefour, suivre la piste à droite ; traverser le ruisseau puis le pré. Dans le bois, bifurquer à gauche pour retrouver un chemin. Il rejoint une piste que l’on prend à gauche pour rejoindre les Gourseix.
  5. Sur la placette, aller-retour de 50 m. à droite : la pierre avec le blason se trouve à droite de la montée de la grange de la première maison. A la sortie du village, prendre le chemin à gauche qui rejoint la route.
  6. La suivre à droite. Au carrefour suivant à gauche. 200 m. après la Barre, après un transformateur, prendre un sentier à droite. Le suivre toujours tout droit ; laisser un chemin sur la gauche ; au carrefour de chemins juste avant la route, à gauche. Le chemin rejoint la route.
  7. La prendre à gauche ; après l’aire de tri, le chemin à gauche pour gagner le bourg. A droite pour retrouver l’église.
Départ : Place de l’église, Saint-Merd la Breuille
Arrivée : Place de l’église, Saint-Merd la Breuille
Communes traversées : Saint-Merd-la-Breuille, Flayat

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Plusieurs portions humides, partir bien chaussé.

Lieux de renseignement

Bureau d'information de Felletin

Place Quinault, 23500 Felletin

http://www.aubusson-felletin-tourisme.com

tourisme.aubusson@gmail.com

05 55 66 32 12

En savoir plus

Bureau d'information touristique de Sornac - La Courtine

1 Rue de la République, 19290 Sornac

http://www.tourisme-hautecorreze.fr/Le-Territoire/Bugeat-Sornac

05 19 60 00 30

En savoir plus

Accès routiers et parkings

A partir de La Courtine, suivre la D996 dir. St-Oradoux. Passer St-Oradoux puis l’étang de Méouze. Bifurquer à droite sur la D. 18 dir. St-Merd la Breuille.

Stationnement :

Place de l’église, Saint-Merd la Breuille

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :