Les Hérons
>>
Home
>
Pedestrian
>
Les Hérons
Eygurande

Les Hérons

Lakes and rivers
Landscape
Embed this item to access it offline
Between forests and lakes, this is one of the prettiest family walks in the area.
The name of this itinerary refers to the magnificent bird that inhabits our ponds and lakes, although not much appreciated by the owners of these bodies of water due to the amount of fish it consumes. The Plateau de Millevaches is known as France's water tower because of the numerous rivers that have their sources there, but it also has a wealth of ponds and lakes. All artificial, they were created by humans, who most often dammed a stream at the end of a wetland.

4 points of interest
Pond

Etang de la Veyssie

A funny name for a lake that probably takes its name from the Occitan word "Vaissa", meaning hazel wood. This lake is typical of bodies of water in Limousin where humans have dammed a stream at the outlet of a wetland to create a recreational site, mainly for fishing. This is the case of the Veyssie lake, which is owned by the Pays d'Eygurande general hospital works committee.
read more
Forestry

Les Agriers

A recent logging operation has opened up a view of the Agriers forest massif. This massif which culminates at 915 m at the Puy du Vareyron is the property of a forestry syndicate, managed by the Office National des Forêts. It covers 600 hectares, most of which is used for forestry production. This afforestation was carried out from the 1970s onwards, on heather moors with juniper bushes, which were used for sheep grazing.
read more
Heritage site

Village of Coulourières

The villages of Haute-Corrèze are all involved in agriculture. Walking through these hamlets always produces interesting discoveries during a hike: barns, mansions, crosses and monuments, traditional local architecture... Don't miss the old bread oven on your left and the well in Coulourières. As you leave the village, on your right, there is an oratory dedicated to the Virgin.
read more
Pond

Lake

This lake is certainly the wildest of the four expanses of water on this walk. It is a splendid observation point for waterfowl and amphibians. The shallow depth of this lake is undergoing eutrophication: in other words, the plants are growing and will fill the available space in the water. This body of water will become successively swamp, then wetland meadow.
read more

Description

Take the road to the east towards Eygurande for 200 m.

  1. Turn left onto the path; take two left turns at the next two crossroads. The path goes over the road and eventually joins it.
  2. Follow it on the right for 50 m and then turn right onto the path. Continue straight on through the woodland.
  3. When you reach a meadow, there is a track that you take on the right. Go straight on at the next crossroads to arrive on a road that you take to the right. Go through Coulourières.
  4. 300 m afterthe village, take the track on the right for 250 m. When you arrive in the woods, take the path on the left; go on alongside the lake, and go over the dyke. Afterthis,follow the path to the left to get back to the road. Turn right for 400 m.
  5. At the crossroads with the road, turn right onto the track which becomes a path and then a trackafter the lake. At the crossing of the paths, to the right is a path through woodland which joins the path you took at the beginning: go left and then right to join the road that goesback to the Veyssie lake. 
Departure : Parking at the Veyssie lake
Arrival : Parking at the Veyssie lake
Towns crossed : Eygurande

Altimetric profile


Recommandations

Follow the markings carefully at the Eygadie lake, it is private property.

Information desks

Place Voltaire, 19200 Ussel

05 19 60 00 30

Find out more

Access and parking

The departure point is 6 km from Eygurande: follow the D21, then the D79 towards Le Massif des Agriers. Be careful, at the entrance of the massif, keep right on the D79 to reach the lake.

Parking :

Parking at the Veyssie lake

More information


Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Les Hérons
>>
Accueil
>
Pédestre
>
Les Hérons
Eygurande

Les Hérons

Lacs et rivières
Paysage
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion
Entre forêts et étangs, une des plus jolies randonnées familiales du secteur.
Le nom de cet itinéraire fait référence à ce magnifique oiseau qui peuple nos étangs, bien que peu apprécié des propriétaires de ces plans d’eau au vu de la quantité de poisson qu’il consomme. Si le Plateau de Millevaches est identifié comme le château d’eau de la France en raison des nombreux cours d’eau y prenant leurs sources, il est également riche d’une multitude d’étangs. Tous artificiels, ils ont été créés par l’homme qui a le plus souvent endigué un ruisseau au sortir d’une zone humide.

Les 5 patrimoines à découvrir
Etang

Etang de la Veyssie

Drôle de nom pour un étang qui tire vraisemblablement son nom de l’occitan « Vaissa », qui signifie bois de noisetier. Cet étang est typique des plans d’eau limousins où l’homme a endigué un ruisseau au sortir d’une zone humide pour créer un site de loisirs, essentiellement pour la pêche. C’est le cas de la Veyssie, propriété du comité d’entreprise du centre hospitalier du Pays d’Eygurande.
lire la suite
Sylviculture

Les Agriers

Une récente coupe de bois a permis d’ouvrir un point de vue sur le massif forestier des Agriers. Ce massif, qui culmine à 915 m au Puy du Vareyron, est un bien propre d’un groupement syndical forestier, géré par l’Office National des Forêts. Il s’étend sur 600 hectares, en majeure partie destinés à la production forestière. Ce boisement s’est effectué à partir des années 70 sur des des landes à bruyères et des genévriers, terrains de parcours à moutons.
lire la suite
Sylviculture

Les Agriers

Ce massif qui culmine à 915 m au Puy du Vareyron est un bien propre d’un groupement syndical forestier, géré par l’Office National des Forêts. Il s’étend sur 600 hectares, en majeure partie destinée à la production forestière. Ce boisement s’est effectué à partir des années 70, sur des landes à bruyères et des genévriers, terrains de parcours à moutons.
lire la suite
Patrimoine

Village de Coulourières

Les villages de la Haute-Corrèze avaient tous une vocation agricole. La traversée de ces hameaux constitue toujours un moment de découverte unique lors d’une randonnée : granges, maisons de maître, croix, petit patrimoine... A Coulourières, ne manquez pas sur votre gauche l’ancien four à pain et le puits. A la sortie du village, sur votre droite, un oratoire dédié à la Vierge.
lire la suite
Etang

Etang

Cet étang est certainement le plus sauvage des 4 étangs de cette balade. Il est un magnifique point d’observation pour les oiseaux d’eau et les amphibiens. En raison de sa faible profondeur, cet étang est en voie d’eutrophisation : les plantes se développent et vont venir combler l’espace disponible dans l’eau. Cette pièce d’eau deviendra successivement marécage, puis prairie humide.
lire la suite

Description

Prendre la route à l’est en direction d’Eygurande sur 200 m.

  1. Tourner à gauche sur le chemin ; prendre deux fois à gauche aux prochains carrefours. Le chemin passe au-dessus de la route et finit par la rejoindre.
  2. L’emprunter à droite sur 50 m puis bifurquer sur le chemin à droite. Continuer toujours tout droit en sous-bois. 
  3. Rejoindre au niveau d’un pré une piste que l’on prend à droite. Tout droit au carrefour suivant pour arriver sur une route que l’on prend à droite. Traverser Coulourières.
  4. 300 m après le village, prendre la piste à droite sur 250 m. Arrivé au bois, emprunter le chemin à gauche ; longer l’étang, passer sur la digue. Après cette dernière, suivre le chemin à gauche pour rejoindre la route. La prendre à droite sur 400 m.
  5. Au carrefour avec la route, bifurquer à droite sur la piste qui devient un chemin puis un sentier après l’étang. Au carrefour de chemins, à droite un sentier en sous-bois qui rejoint le chemin emprunté au départ : à gauche puis à droite pour rejoindre la route qui ramène à l’étang de la Veyssie.
Départ : Stationnement étang de la Veyssie
Arrivée : Stationnement étang de la Veyssie
Communes traversées : Eygurande

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Bien suivre le balisage au niveau de l’étang de l’Eygadie, propriété privée.

Lieux de renseignement

Bureau d'information touristique d'Ussel

Place Voltaire, 19200 Ussel

05 19 60 00 30

En savoir plus

Accès routiers et parkings

Le départ se trouve à 6 km d’Eygurande : suive la D21 puis la D79 directions le Massif des Agriers. Attention, à l’entrée du massif, bien rester à droite sur la D79 pour rejoindre l’étang.

Stationnement :

Stationnement étang de la Veyssie

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :