Les Agaries
>>
Home
>
Pedestrian
>
Les Agaries
Marcillac-la-Croisille

Les Agaries

Discovery trail
Fauna et flora
Heritage site and architecture
History
Lakes and rivers
Embed this item to access it offline
The Agaries stream reveals its secrets to you; from occupation by humankind over the centuries to a rich, preserved natural environment today.
Between the village of Nougein and Pierre Levée, this tour, with explanatory panels, offers a discovery of the natural heritage and past human activities in the gorges of the Dordogne.

8 points of interest
Heritage site

The cave

In 1990, the construction of a forestry track led to the discovery of a cavity, with the ground, which gave way under a lorry. After an excavation carried out with the authorisation of the Regional Directorate of Archaeology, the structure carved into the granite... (see the following panel 1).
read more
Heritage site

Bridges and Windmills

The Napoleonic land registry (1818-1842) shows the Agaries stream crossed by the trail you are following. You will cross two bridges, usually called "Roman bridges"... (see the following panel 2).
read more
Fauna

The Fauna

The Chastang dam not far from here is a very important breeding site for two bat species, the Greater mouse-eared and the Lesser horseshoe. (see the following panel 3).
read more
Flora

The Flora

The Northern Beech Fern: this mountain pteridophyte appreciates lush undergrowth, stream banks and wet slopes and avoids very acidic soils. Alive and well in Corrèze... (see the following panel 4).
read more
Heritage site

The "Pierre Levée"

Raised halfway down the slope, this monumental sentinel reminds us irresistibly of a powerful menhir from the depths of time. It doesn't take a lot of imagination to see strange shapes on these sides... (see the following panel 5).
read more
Fauna

The chestnut grove dryers

Known as the "Bread tree" and present in our countryside for many, many years, the chestnut tree was cultivated for its edible fruit, the chestnut. The result of selection and cultivation, there are more than 80 species of sweet chestnuts and more than 25 varieties of horse chestnuts... (see panel 6 below).
read more
Flora

The moorland

The moorlands, common in the past, have become very rare in Limousin today. Their conservation is also of European interest. There are several types of moorland whose composition is different depending on the geological substrate. (see the following panel 8).
read more
Small patrimony

The chapel

Nougein would have had a chapel as early as the 12th century. Ruined in 1775, it appeared on the 1835 land register as an almost square construction of 7 m on each side, surrounded by a 40 x 10 cemetery... (see panel 9 below).
read more

Description

  1. From the information panel, go down the track (the countryside of the Dordogne gorges), pass the panel (cave found during the excavation of the track) and continue along the track. In the undergrowth, turn left onto the trail edged by old dry-stone walls. It passes through the beech woods and descends.
  2. On the track, keep to the left for a round trip to the "Les Ponts et Moulins" panel, then retrace your steps and take the wooden stairs on the left, then go over the old bridge.
  3. Take the trail to the right on the embankment and go down along the stream, the Agaries, (vaulted bridge, diversion canal, imposing dyke and irrigation riser, witnesses of the past relating to water control). Continue on the trail to the left of the stream (lookout point and wildlife information panel facing the waterfall). Continue the descent (follow the markings carefully; the ground is slippery in wet weather). Pass the information panel about the flora, ford the stream and follow the right-hand bank of the stream to a footbridge (Access to Pierre Levée by the footbridge).
  4. Go up into the old chestnut grove (remains of a chestnut dryer). The path climbs up into the undergrowth (information panel about the forests of the gorges). Cross the track and continue the ascent by the path. It crosses the remains of the heather moorland and reaches the plateau. Continue along the small road and pass the bakehouse covered with stone (schist) tiles.
  5. Take the road to the right and pass the church.
  6. Follow the road towards Vergne and go straight ahead to return to the starting point.
Departure : Nougein, Marcillac la Croisille
Arrival : Nougein, Marcillac la Croisille
Towns crossed : Marcillac-la-Croisille

Altimetric profile


Recommandations

The descent along the Agaries stream is steep and slippery in wet weather.

Information desks

1 rue Joseph Vialaneix, 19300 Egletons

http://www.tourisme-egletons.com

accueil@tourisme-egletons.com

05 55 93 04 34

Find out more

Carrefour de l’Epinette, 19550 Lapleau

http://www.cc-ventadour.fr

accueil@cc-ventadour.fr

05 55 27 69 26

Find out more

Access and parking

5.9 km from Marcillac la Croisille, take the D18, then turn left onto the Nougein commune road, and in the hamlet of Nougein, turn left towards Vergne. Parking on the side of the road 50m to the right.

Parking :

Start of the track, Nougein

More information


Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Les Agaries
>>
Accueil
>
Pédestre
>
Les Agaries
Marcillac-la-Croisille

Les Agaries

Faune et flore
Histoire
Lacs et rivières
Patrimoine et architecture
Sentier de découverte
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion
Le  ruisseau des Agaries vous dévoile ses secrets ; de l’occupation des hommes à travers les siècles à une nature riche et préservée aujourd’hui.

Entre le village de Nougein et la Pierre Levée, ce circuit, agrémenté de panneaux explicatifs, propose une découverte du patrimoine naturel et des activités humaines passées, dans les gorges de la Dordogne.


Les 8 patrimoines à découvrir
Patrimoine

La cave

En 1990, la réalisation d’une piste forestière entraîne la découverte d’une cavité, le sol  cédant sous un camion. Après une fouille effectuée sur autorisation de la Direction Régionale d’Archéologie, la structure taillée dans le granit... (lire la suite panneau 1).

lire la suite
Patrimoine

Les Ponts et Moulins

Le cadastre Napoléonien (1818-1842) fait apparaitre le ruisseau des Agaries traversé par le sentier que vous parcourez. Vous emprunterez deux ponts appelés habituellement « pont romains »... (lire la suite panneau 2).
lire la suite
Faune

La Faune

Le barrage du chastang non loin d’ici, est un site de reproduction très important pour deux espèces de chauves-souris, le Grand Murin et le Petit Rhinolophe... (lire la suite panneau 3).

lire la suite
Flore

La Flore

La fougère à Moustaches : ce ptéridophytes montagnards apprécie les sous-bois frais, les bords de ruisseaux et les talus humides et évite les sols très acides. Bien présent en Corrèze... (lire la suite panneau 4).

lire la suite
Patrimoine

La "Pierre levée"

Dressée à mi-pente cette monumentale sentinelle nous fait irrésistiblement penser à un puissant menhir venu du fonds des âges. Il ne faut pas un grand effort d’imagination pour voir sur ces flancs d’étranges formes... (lire la suite panneau 5).
lire la suite
Faune

Les séchoirs la châtaigneraie

« Arbre à pain » pendant très longtemps dans nos campagnes, le châtaignier était cultivait pour son fruit comestible, la châtaigne. Issue de la sélection et de la culture, la châtaigne recouvre ainsi plus de 80 espèces de châtaignes et plus de 25 variétés de marron... (lire la suite panneau 6).
lire la suite
Flore

Les landes

Les landes, communes par le passé, sont devenues aujourd’hui très rare en Limousin.
Leur conservation est d’ailleurs d’intérêt européen. Il existe plusieurs types de landes dont la composition est différente en fonction du substrat géologique... (lire la suite panneau 8).

lire la suite
Petit patrimoine

La chapelle

Nougein aurait eu une chapelle dès le XIIe siècle. Ruinée en 1775, elle apparait sur le cadastre de 1835 en une construction presque carré de 7 m de côté, entouré d’un cimetière de 40x10... (lire la suite panneau 9).
lire la suite

Description

  1. Du panneau de présentation, descendre par la piste (paysage des gorges de la Dordogne), passer le panneau (cave trouvée lors du terrassement de la piste) et poursuivre par la piste. En sous-bois, s’engager à gauche sur le sentier délimité par d’anciens murets de pierres sèches. Il passe dans la hêtraie et descend.
  2. Sur la piste prendre à gauche pour un aller-retour jusqu’au panneau « Les ponts et Moulins » revenez sur vos pas  et emprunter à gauche l’escalier en bois, passer sur l’ancien pont.
  3. Emprunter à droite le sentier dans le talus et descendre le long du ruisseau des Agaries (pont voûté, canal de dérivation, digue imposante et levant d’irrigation, témoins du passé liés à la maîtrise de l’eau). Poursuivre sur le sentier à gauche du ruisseau (belvédère et panneau sur la faune face à la cascade). Continuer la descente (bien suivre le balisage ; terrain glissant par temps de pluie). Passer le panneau sur la flore, franchir le ruisseau à gué et longer la rive droite du ruisseau jusqu’à une passerelle ( Accès à la pierre levée par la passerelle).
  4. Monter dans l’ancienne châtaigneraie (vestiges d’un séchoir à châtaignes). Le chemin grimpe en sous-bois (panneau sur les forêts des gorges). Couper la piste et continuer l’ascension par le chemin. Il traverse une relique de lande à bruyère et atteint le plateau. Poursuivre par la petite route et passer le fournil couvert de lauzes de shiste.
  5.  Prendre la route à droite et passer l’église.
  6. Par la route en direction de Vergne, rejoindre tout droit le point de départ.
Départ : Nougein, Marcillac la Croisille
Arrivée : Nougein, Marcillac la Croisille
Communes traversées : Marcillac-la-Croisille

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

La descente le long du ruisseau des Agaries est pentue et glissante par temps de pluie.

Lieux de renseignement

Communauté de Communes de Ventadour - Egletons - Monédières

Carrefour de l’Epinette, 19550 Lapleau

http://www.cc-ventadour.fr

accueil@cc-ventadour.fr

05 55 27 69 26

En savoir plus

Office de Tourisme communautaire Ventadour-Egletons-Monédières

1 rue Joseph Vialaneix, 19300 Egletons

http://www.tourisme-egletons.com

accueil@tourisme-egletons.com

05 55 93 04 34

Sur le territoire Ventadour-Egletons-Monédières, le bureau d'information touristique d'Egletons vous donne des informations personnalisées et spécifiques pour préparer et organiser votre séjour. Ouvert toute l'année.
En savoir plus

Accès routiers et parkings

A 5,9 km de Marcillac la Croisille, prendre la D18 puis à gauche la route communale de Nougein, dans le hameau de Nougein, prendre à gauche la direction de Vergne, parking en bord de route à 50m à droite.

Stationnement :

Début de la piste, Nougein

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :